Hope and Despair

11-’11

Hope and despair,

side by side, comingled like lovers,

estranged but intimate—

of necessity joined

in a world that feeds both.

Hope looks beyond to the “other”—

promised, longed for.

Despair looks to what is,

heavy and real—

the pressing darkness

of a world given to

thorns, labor, and frustration.

Complications and too many too manys.

Where is the pillar of fire that leads?

Where is the cloud that calls us on?

Where is the still, small voice in this hurricane?

If You, Holy One, are a resident guest,

why does my faith-walk seem like a script I’m reading,

rather than a life I’m living?

*  *  *

“In You, oh Lord, I have taken refuge;

let me never be put to shame;

deliver me in Your righteousness,

turn Your ear to me,

come quickly to my rescue;

be my rock of refuge,

a strong fortress to save me.

Ps. 31:1-2

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Christian, Faith, Photography, Poetry, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Hope and Despair

  1. Manny.Lau says:

    This is beautiful =)

  2. SR says:

    Thanks Lilly for sharing this. The pictures and the writings so went hand and hand. What a great gift you have from our Lord. God Bless, SR

  3. SR says:

    Oh I think you can for sure! If not I am out of luck, because I have sooooooo many motto’s and verses which I live by. God Bless, SR

  4. E A M Harris says:

    I love your pictures. You have a real eye for beauty.

  5. belladonna23 says:

    very beautiful, I often struggle with understanding God and why he allows some of the turmoils in my life to occur, but we must have hope that everything happens for a reason. I think your poem captures how easy it is to forget that.

    • Thank you. I think coming to terms with pain and suffering has been one thing I always am trying to work through. So much of what is offered as comfort and / or wisdom seems not helpful. It has helped to express the raw emotion and the “working through” in all manner of arts and words, and my theological studies have given me insights and comfort. There is hope!

  6. dantrewear says:

    a great read, and I like your unflinching gaze at the hard questions
    Peace, –Dan

  7. I know the feeling: hope and despair co-mingled. Joseph said, “God has made me fruitful in the land of my affliction” (Genesis 41:52) and, (other people) “meant it for harm, but God meant it for good” (Genesis 50:20.)

  8. beautiful pairing of words and photography.

I would love to hear from you!

