Coffee Break!

 

. . . or at least spill!  My “friendly” Cooper’s Hawk returned, and of course I jumped up to take a picture through my newly cleaned, and expansively so, window!  See what happens when you clean the whole thing!

Problem:  I knocked over my coffee into my keyboard.  I didn’t even notice till he had flown off.  After emptying the keyboard of my vanilla creamed organic free trade blend, and after sopping up the remainder off my desk, I was surprised to find that aside from a stuck enter key, it is none the worse for wear.

I didn’t get around to uploading the pictures right away, and when I did today, what a surprise.  It’s not the original.  So a wife?  A cousin?  A friend?  This one is almost blue in the feather and the chest is more the typical sandy flecked Cooper’s in the pictures.  I hate that they eat my sparrows and finches, but I have to gasp with delight at his magnificence!

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Hawks, Humor, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Coffee Break!

  1. raburcke says:

    He or she is truly a beaut!

  2. Susan Hart says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen a bird like that before!

  3. April Mullen says:

    Gorgeous! Thank you so much for posting!

  4. randallslack says:

    Look with God hath wrought!

  5. danitacahill says:

    Love the last one. Sorry to hear about the spilled coffee, Lilly.

  6. I’ve spilled Coca-Cola on the keyboard. I save the coffee for the printer.
    Very nice pictures. You should try to submit them to a birding magazine.
    Well, my husband and I about killed ourselves for the birds today. :O I hope I can get out of bed tomorrow. We took part in the Christmas Bird Count and the location we were assigned to was quite natural. It was interesting, and I’d do it again, but I’ll want to get in better shape for it. This was pretty extreme for us when birding usually is a bit more leisurely.

    • Yikes, where did you have to go? Mountain climbing?

      • We went to an arboretum near the center of the county. Beautiful place. It sure seemed like mountain climbing with all those hills. (Where we live is pretty flat. ) Because we were birding off the trails, we had to push through a lot of tall grasses and reeds. And got to jump over a creek or two. I am too old for that…. What I did learn is I need to get some good hiking boots. I am sure I will look a hoot in those things.

      • Small increments. Start with climbing the stairs in your boots. Then wee hills! None of this weekend warrior jazz. 🙂

  7. What a great visitor! That last picture looks like it’s saying something to you. Maybe “did you get the shot?” or “what are you waiting for?” Lovely

    • No, what he was saying was, “Keep the seed coming; the fatter the better!” He is pretty awesome, though! I saw 2 more hovering high in the sky today, but they did not come to call.

  8. marlee westman says:

    The first word that came to mind when I saw these awesome photos was WOW! I’m glad your keyboard is okay, but the pictures you took are priceless!

  9. singhmv says:

    Pretty bird. Nice story.

I would love to hear from you!

