An Unforever Friend

’11

It could have been a lifelong friendship,

a haven’t-seen-you-like-forever-but-everything’s-the-same kind of friendship.

We shared tight, little secrets that only capital F Friends should share.

We pontificated over politics—all the things we could never change.

We wept over children—all the heart-pains that only mothers know

and only Friends can share.

We shared meals, split tabs, told jokes, prayed prayers,

taking time to just be

and sometimes read each other’s minds.

But the shared whispers have disappeared.

The warm hugs have been replaced by unreturned phone calls

and occasional hurried-life passings–as life is passing.

I have grieved your loss as one who died;

but your life is so full

you don’t seem to notice I am not in it.

I thought we would be friends forever,

capital F Friends, unshakeable Friends,

but forever has come to an end.

’10

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Photography, Poetry, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to An Unforever Friend

  1. susansplace says:

    That is a sad post, Lilly. But I sure do get it. It makes me think I need to get off my duff and call a few people. I was meant to read this, this morning. Thank you!

  2. It’s quite rare to find a blog where both the words and the pictures are equally beautiful and yours, Lilly, is one of the good ones. I especially always enjoy your “tree” pictures… particularly relevent to me this week as I have been writing about trees! There is a lovely one outside my window that inspired me, but I am not a clever photographer like you.

    And yes, as Susan comments above, the poem made me think I’d better call a few people… 🙂

  3. selah says:

    its very sad when this happens.. I have had it happen to me also.. you wrote about this subject so well.. thank you.

  4. Nicole M says:

    I love the top picture, of the clouds and the aqueduct. That’s part of my memories of my childhood home, and I love that you shared it.

  5. Your poor sad tree in the middle goes well with the sadness of your poem, depicts something that started well, but has come to a dead end. And that is life, though none of us wish it so.

  6. How very sad. It’s a shame when that happens. The poem and pictures are beautiful though; and powerful.

  7. Dor says:

    Your Unforever Friend poem is a keeper. Losing people this way happens to all of us, and it’s always hard. We try. We invest ourselves. Finally, it is the “unforever” friend’s great loss. Your poetry is beautiful. As I scrolled down that long long empty sky, and read the poem, knew how you felt when you wrote it – like your friend had disappeared into the ether.

  8. you have a way of putting it, “unforever friend.” well… ^^

    hello, ms. lily. hope your health is getting better and better… warm regards! 🙂

  9. Reblogged this on A p r o n h e a d — Lilly and commented:

    **********************Another recycled bit.

  10. dorannrule says:

    I read this again and am just as touched the second time. It’s a sad but lovely poem, and the photos so beautifully illustrate it.

  11. I think this happens to all of us at one time or another – and I’ve learned it’s rarely anything personal – just life. It always hurts though….
    Your tree photos are always wonderful, BTW!

  12. Change abounds and people are nothing if not changing beings.
    I think that even though the friendship isn’t active right now, it was a beautiful gift when it was. Allowing this friendship to be released will have lead you both to a multitude of other gifts to enter into your life.
    I don’t see your words as sad. I see it as a sort of beautiful homage to a great friend that is dear to you.
    This was a beautiful post, great share. 🙂

  13. Pat says:

    Very well written and illustrated. It does feel like a death, and the grief is as intense. Our lives do change, and sometimes we don’t have as much control as we would like to think we have.

  14. Don’t give up on your friend life has gotten in the way send a sweet photo of these beautiful strong trees and attach your poem she needs to see the words in order to feel them and what has been missing HUGS

  15. Pingback: Sweet souls « 35andupcynicismonhold

I would love to hear from you!

