A Study in Contrasts

272 - Copy

I have seen some red-tailed hawks aloft now and then, but my Coopers have been gone all summer.  Not sure where they go.

263 - Copy

I was thinking it would be so nice to get a picture of a hawk beside my neighbor’s pink roses while they are still in bloom; and wouldn’t you know, a huge one came calling.  He planted himself not in the many shadows of my east yard, as the blue hour was upon us and only a portion of the yard was sunlit.  He positioned himself in perfect sight of my window by the roses in the soft evening light.

269 - Copy

I fired off a few shots, then gently opened the door and shot as I walked toward him.  He was totally unintimidated by me and only flew off when our collie came running down the walk.  I welcomed him, all the time saying, “Please don’t kill my birdies!”

265 - Copy

262 - Copy 255 - Copy 271 - Copy

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Hawks, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Study in Contrasts

  1. The colour and background are very reminiscent of Audubon. The third one is wonderful!

  2. katehobbs says:

    Love the way he is looking at you in the 3rd pic. Almost as if he is enjoying being in the limelight. Great opportunity and I am quite jealous!

  3. keelymyles says:

    Ammaaaaazing!

  4. Those are absolutely stunning shots – What a great moment that must have been to see it up close like that! Such a beautiful bird!
    ~Andrea<3

  5. beautiful bird and photo!

  6. Gorgeous photos. The first one is my favorite.

  7. soonie2 says:

    A beauty and what wonderful captures! Those eyes are piercing!

I would love to hear from you!

