Thought for the Day: Rethinking my desire to work for National Geographic!

Another Cooper’s hawk just came by to visit.  I had coffee in hand, and the light wasn’t great, so I decided to just watch and not shoot.  Shock, I know.  He stayed there for a good five minutes, so I thought If you are going to be such a poser, I will adjust the ISO and go for it.

I walked closer and closer.  Closer.  (Are you feeling the tension?)  He was entirely unintimidated by my presence.  I got closer to him that I’ve ever been able to do with others of his kind!  He was making me a little nervous with his brashness.

All of a sudden, he flew right at me.  Nope.  Didn’t get the pic.  Too busy ducking and breathing!

He swooped up over the house, and then again swooped right by me through the yard.  Ahhhhhhh!  It was an adrenaline rush, and I am now rethinking my photographic approach!

I went in the house to tell the tale to hubby, but the raptor came back within a minute.  So your woman of strength and power went out again; though I must admit, I was slightly hiding behind the patio pillar and the hummingbird feeder. 🙂  Even when the dog came out, the rascal didn’t move.

When he did, it was an intentional swoop up and into the yard behind us.

I ignored the screams and went inside.  It really was a vegan moment for me!

(Pics to follow when I stop shaking.)

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Humor, Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Thought for the Day: Rethinking my desire to work for National Geographic!

  1. tootlepedal says:

    I look forward to them.

  2. Maggie Brown says:

    That sounds scary. The rascal.

  3. LJ Innes says:

    Me too … the story was hysterical, the pictures will be priceless.

  4. Mona says:

    I cannot wait for the pictures!

  5. jmgoyder says:

    That’s hilarious!

  6. LOL, never known you to NOT get your bird!

  7. Yes I too will continue to send NATGEO my PRETTY PICTURES I refuse to do ugly slaughters lol Yes I love my make believe world 🙂

  8. belocchio says:

    Incredible skies. One wishes to soar through them like a bird. To envelope one’s self in their beauty. Virginia

I would love to hear from you!

