Tales from the Not-Home-Yet!

Well, I thought all was well.  It is still super cold, but both Ottawa and Philly looked like the weather was going to cooperate with me flying out on Wed. (today).  I paid for my bag (argh) yesterday and printed out my boarding passes.  Flight showing on-time.  Goodbyes said to Mum and ready to go.

I thought I would check last night before I went to bed–just a double check on status.  Cancelled!

For some reason, they decided to let the folks fly first who had been stranded in Philly for a couple of days.  How rude.  And there are not enough flight crews to man the planes who are current–me.  So I have been pushed back to Friday.

My niece and her husband and child just got in to Ottawa from Australia last night at midnight.  They were delayed a few hours.  We were hoping to have at least a hi and goodbye. They are still sleeping–how rude–but now we will be able to have a longer visit.

So I am warm, sheltered, and they feed me, so I will just flex with this historic weather. It’s not every day you get to be caught up in a polar vortex.

Note to students:  Don’t consider this extended vacation.  We will be doubling up assignments when I get back, at Starbucks possibly.

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Family, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Tales from the Not-Home-Yet!

  1. reinkat says:

    What an adventure you are having, trapped in a polar vortex. It will probably go into the annals of your family history. I am glad that you are warm and safe. Take care!

  2. pattisj says:

    I’m glad you are warm and being fed. Enjoy your stay–and how nice you get to see people you would otherwise have missed. We know who is in charge of the Polar Vortex. 🙂

  3. Did you make it home I bet you are happy you went but happy to be back where it is a tad warmer 🙂

I would love to hear from you!

