Vegemeatafruitarianism

Break from work = profound thought (just in case it is not perfectly clear):

I have been flirting with a low-fat vegan diet since summer (80-10-10).  I refuse to think I consistently fail.  It’s more like adapting–to hunger and circumstance.

Cooking for meat-eaters is problematic, as is the insatiable craving for Havarti and / or my homemade whole grain bread that occasionally consumes me.

So I have decided to create a new label instead of whine about my failures.  It is synonymous with the word “self-denial.”  (Or maybe “in denial.”)

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Food, Humor, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Vegemeatafruitarianism

  1. By the title, I take it you’re an “I Love Lucy” fan 😀

  2. tootlepedal says:

    It sounds a bit like my Mediterranean diet.

  3. I wholly agree. My daughter just sent me lists of foods to boycott because of GMOs – not much left. 😦

  4. Even veggies aren’t all safe!

  5. Mirada says:

    Well, you’re a better woman than I–though I’ve learned a couple vegetarian recipes from my English friend, and they are GOOD–I was totally surprised!

  6. dorannrule says:

    I like your new multi faceted categories as long as I can eat chocolate too! Sigh. 🙂 Havarti and chocolate – a dream come true.

  7. We just need to feel good and have good numbers at the doctors so eat for health and SMILES!

  8. Has this diet helped you? I’ve just cut back on what I eat and have dropped a few pounds, but it’s slow going. I can probably guess some of the dirty dozen- corn, soy, maybe apples (due to heavy pesticide use), but what are the clean 15? When my husband picks up groceries, he almost automatically gets organic apples, bananas, lettuce.

    • When I have stuck with it, I lose weight fairly quickly. It is hard with my schedule and with cooking for others, but I’m trying on most days to at least be low-fat raw vegan till supper. Some days, I can do it all day; other days, like today, I only made it to lunch and had to have peanut butter and jam on ww bread with coffee!!! But I figure any move in a healthier direction is always good. I am very impressed with what I have seen and heard about 80-10-10 but still not totally convinced that I want to do it fulltime. Right now I am treating it more as a healing method. I’m not sure I can totally give up all cooked food. http://www.ewg.org/foodnews/summary.php

    • The clean 15 are included in the link. If folks can only afford to by org with one thing, I tell them to make it potatoes, since they have the heaviest chemical load–pesticides, fungicides, herbicides, and the junk they put on to keep them from sprouting on market displays! Yuck!

I would love to hear from you!

