My Book of Uncommon Prayers–Tight Fists

448 - Copy

Pry open these fingers, one by one,

these fixed fists,

these clenched hands that grip crumbling treasures like they were bread or gold.

Pry open these fingers of their pain, bone by bone,

so unused to surrender,

so tainted by self-sufficiency, as if I could even make one thing better by railing at it,

tight fists,

tight heart.

In the middle of the mess, free my hands of these dirty, dark cares

so I might raise palms high,

open, clean, and free to worship.

Other Uncommon Prayers

462 - Copy

Sunset 1-31-14

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Christian, Faith, My Book of Uncommon Prayers, Photography, Poetry, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My Book of Uncommon Prayers–Tight Fists

  1. keelymyles says:

    So hard in those moments… But what a beautifully penned prayer. And so honest about our human nature. Press on!

  2. reinkat says:

    Beautiful. I just love your uncommon prayer, and this one especially.

  3. Mirada says:

    Oh Wow, this blessed me–thank you.

  4. quirkyjazz says:

    What an absolutely gorgeous sunset!!! I caught the sunrise that day and it was a doozy, too. Today’s sunrise — gray and very non-spectacular. It is a good reminder to keep looking and watching for the AMAzing ones.

  5. quirkyjazz says:

    p.s. I love the poem, too. ❤

  6. Pingback: My Book of Uncommon Prayers: God of the Slimmest of Chances | A p r o n h e a d — Lilly

I would love to hear from you!

