Morning Words

462 - Copy

As pink light seeps round the edges of the shades and wakefulness stirs the pot of thought and imagination, the words come in a stream,

and I catch them somewhere between my listmaking, my dozing, and my stuttered prayers, and

I grab my pen and pad and write,

write fast before–evanescent–the words dissolve in the piling up and speeding up of minutes

that bring with them not only the rising sun

but rising obligation.

***************(Okay, since I was moving fast this morning and put a sunset up instead, here’s my repentance in the form of a true sunrise! 🙂  )

061 - Copy

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Morning Words

  1. The sky is on fire! Beautiful shot 🙂

  2. nonoymanga says:

    Breathtaking shot!!!

  3. Mirada says:

    Oh wow! Gorgeous words, and photo.

  4. dorannrule says:

    An awesome photo and the words that match so perfectly!

  5. jmgoyder says:

    I know this – wonderful morning words!

  6. Joe Dallas says:

    Nailed it Lilly. Really beautiful shots.

  7. I was going to say your sunrise looked like my sunset 🙂

  8. susanpoozan says:

    Lovely pictures of those coloured skies.

I would love to hear from you!

