A World in My Bedroom

046 - Copy 049 - Copy 050 - Copy 053 - Copy 058 - Copy 061 - Copy 065 - Copy 066 - Copy 069 - Copy 072

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Family, memories, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A World in My Bedroom

  1. Don’t forget to go outside, too! There’s another world outside!

  2. such delicately beautiful images

  3. There’s something oh so magical about a quilt. My mother made beautiful hand stitched quilts and so did both of my grandmothers. I never had the patients for row after row of those tiny stitches but I still sleep the best when its under one of their quilts.

    • I have made one for each of the boys, but with my schedule I hope I find time to make grandbaby ones, too!

      • Oh yes, the two most prized possessions in our overall family happens to be my great-grandmothers, grandmother, and mother’s quilts. As I’m the only girl the quilts made their way to my house. Another prized possession is my Dad’s leather saddle that he rode for well over 70 years. Dad’s saddle also holds a place of prominence in our living room. Except for the quilts that were specific gifts to me, I’ve started passing them on as wedding gifts to my great-nieces and great-nephews. They all tell me they are the most treasured of their gifts and so far, each has hung their quilts with care as pieces of art. It never ceases to amaze me that none have a hole in them or broken stitches. They wash up beautifully each time.

        • That’s really cool. I just got one back from my mom and dad that was kind of sad for me. I made it for their 50th wedding anniversary. They never used it as far as I know. Their generation “saved” special items in the cedar chest, but I’m thinking, “Saving for what!” Now Dad is gone and Mom is in a nursing home, and I have it on my bed. Sigh.

  4. Mirada says:

    Gorgeous things–thanks for sharing with us! That quilt looks both lovely and so inviting!

  5. dorannrule says:

    And a lovely world it is too…..

  6. Love your quilt .BTW I didn’t see any dust just a little charming patina. That added a softening touch to the dried flowers. Mine look like that also. 😉

I would love to hear from you!

