3:30 a.m. Really?

It was unnerving to have the police activity on our street on Saturday. It was more unnerving to realize by Sunday that the suspect had actually run through our yard and left his latex burglar gloves by the gate and that he broke off a sprinkler riser as he fled.

It was curious when the officers we called said they didn’t need the gloves as evidence. But when we called our sarg friend, he “encouraged” them to go get the evidence. Someone was to come by last night at 5 p.m. to pick up the gloves, but they didn’t show.

At 3:30 a.m. the dog started howling and barking. There was a police car out front, and I thought something else must be going on in the neighborhood because they surely could not be coming for the gloves. Adrenalin……………

They were there for the GLOVES!  At 3:30 in the morning!

As you might expect, I got hardly any sleep the rest of the night. Now I really do respect what officers do, potentially laying down their lives daily. But come on!

 Because you work the night shift does not mean that I do. Good grief! What has happened to my life?

The first of the story . . .

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Thoughts, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 3:30 a.m. Really?

  1. tootlepedal says:

    What fun you have over there. That certainly was an unbelievable time to collect evidence.

  2. soonie2 says:

    Oh my, exciting times in your neck of the woods!

  3. Starralee says:

    Oh this would be the living end for me, drive me round the bend–good grief and 9/10ths!!!

  4. Starralee says:

    I would tell you stories from my parking lot, but the inherent futility within them quite exhausts me. Just know that you have my sympathy/empathy. And don’t forget…Sunday’s comin’!!

  5. Maybe they came that early to get back at you for going over their head with the sarge! I would be calling my friend back to complain; that is ridiculous and VERY unprofessional. 😛

  6. dorannrule says:

    What a scary time you have had! But your burglar makes for a fascinating story and thank goodness for your trusty dog companion’s barking. 🙂

I would love to hear from you!

