My Book of Uncommon Prayer: God of the Silences

A p r o n h e a d -- Lilly

August 3, '13 sunset August 3, ’13 sunset

I have gotten the call and seen my beloved’s mangled motorcycle that once was shiny and new.  I have seen is grey limp body wheeled quickly down sterile corriders as I moved in shadows and fog.

I have opened the email with shocking words of a denial of faith, ever more sorrowing over the distance, each word a pierce and a weight.

I have stood by the side of the road, barely breathing, as firefighters reclaimed my boy’s broken body with Jaws of Life.  And I have helplessly watched him medivac-ed away by air to a trauma unit full of strangers when all I wanted was to hold him.

I have sung tearful songs, holding my Father’s hand, waiting for that last breath, wondering why so much pain for a life so well-lived.

And I have spread ashes to the wind of my wee firstborn . . . so…

View original post 175 more words

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I would love to hear from you!

