Why am I crying?

020 - Copy

Well, I guess it should be a happy ending, but why am I crying?

I took Baño outside in a birdcage we have to see if her mom would hear her and find her. She was hungry and cheeping. I thought the cage bars would hold her, though she is small. But . . .

We sat there for a while by the feeder, and she was very excited, hearing hummer sounds. But none of the several hummingbirds there even expressed curiosity about her until . . . “she” came in my face, closer than close.

She came several times, opening her mouth and talking to Baño. She even clung to the sides of the cage, then flew around trying to get at her. She came back several times, and I didn’t know what to do.  There was no doubt this was mom.

I thought I would put Bano on her sock bed cupped in my hand and see if she would come to her out of the cage.  When I tried to catch Bano in the cage, she got very excited, flitting around, and she squeezed through the bars! 

She flew up where I could not reach her, clinging to the stucco wall, cheeping. I watched her, letting her know I was still here. Then she flew to a nearby tree and clung to a crook, swaying in the wind. No breezes here. I watched and prayed. She cheeped.

Finally, she flew again into the neighbor’s, out of sight, but I could still hear her cheeping. I felt sad, and there was nothing I could do.

Then mama zipped by, and over the fence. I heard her chattering to her, and the cheeping stopped for a long while.

I just finished cleaning up the mess, and I am happy-sad. I think–I hope–she will be okay, especially since I believe her mom found her. But this has been an awesome experience, and though she needs to be free, I will miss those tiny feet on my hand.  😦

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Humming birds, Photography, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Why am I crying?

  1. tootlepedal says:

    Well done. Letting go is the hardest thing they say.

  2. patsy miller says:

    What a story! You watched and cared with all that you could do, but the time came that ‘opening hands’ is what was meant to be; yet the heart still remains of all the love, care, memories.

    It is such a story which resounds of us having to ‘let-go’ of our children, realizing/understanding the LORD up in Heaven is the ONE that is watching over our young while our eyes and hands may not be the active role; yet it will be our hearts that always remain fully involved!

    You and your husband did a great job nursing the helpless, and strengthening the weak!

  3. I imagine you cried at your sons’ weddings, too, right? Tears just say there’s real affection behind them. And think of the grand-birds you’ll have circling your house someday. 🙂

    So glad your little charge can be free and back with his family. those tiny creatures have an amazing family bond.

    Jack Miner wrote about a pair of Canada geese pair nesting on his land. When the goose was sick and still trying to sit on her nest, he took the eggs from her and put them under a banty hen. That little hen hatched those goslings and was a devoted mother. They’d rush under her when anything threatened; as they grew they lifted her right off the ground trying to stick their long necks under her. When they found the pond and jumped in she was frantic with worry.

    One day the banty was walking across the yard with the goslings following, when the old gander– their rightful parent– came along and spied them. What a racket! Even though he’d never seen them, he knew they were his. At his insistence the old goose dragged herself over and there was more crooning, cuddling and “Where have you been sweeties?” Jack stood there dazzled by the joyful family reunion, marvelling that geese would know the hatchlings from their own eggs.

  4. dorannrule says:

    I am crying with you. But it does look like MAma came to the rescue. And I wouldn’t be surprised if you get close up visits before the end of summer. You wete the best foster parents a hummer could ever have!

  5. When we least expect those tiny miracles, they appear, disappear and then reappear time and time again. Grand story.

  6. randallslack says:

    You were given a great privilege, Lilly. What a wonderful, bittersweet experience. Not many people will be able to say that they had the same privilege. Blessings…

  7. birdpond says:

    I admire you so much for having been able to raise him at all – It’s not an easy task! And yes, it is too easy to second-guess ourselves and kick ourselves if things don’t go ‘perfectly’, and no matter what, we will miss them when they leave. But you did your part, and did it very well, and crying is just part of working with animals. They make us emotional. It’s nothing to be ashamed of. I’ve done enough of it myself!

    • It was a cool experience, and I have seen him several times since. He just sits while I take pictures. His mom is still feeding him, but I saw him go with her to the feeder once. Fun stuff!

  8. Eliza Waters says:

    Wow, what an amazing story with a happy ending – you did what you set out to do, congratulations! I understand it is tough letting go, but talk about the proverbial empty nest! 🙂

  9. Elizabeth says:

    Congrats for your great job, I’m sure Nature has found or will find way to thank you!

I would love to hear from you!

