Farmer Lill, Y’all

021 - Copy

With xeriscape front and back, my stepping stones and spots of color from drought-resistant plants was not quite enough.  I have one container tomato plant and actually have harvested the first 3 tomatoes.  No worm damage, no bird damage, no ground squirrels!  Yay!  I feel like a farmer!

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Farmer Lill, Y’all

  1. Lily – The tomatoes look good enough for me to want to swoop in and gather them up for delicious eating. Do you recommend container planting for tomatoes. I’m thinking of going that direction for all vegetable gardening next year. Do you have thoughts on that. I’m ready for suggestions.

    • Any other place I lived I had a big in-ground garden, but I have all but given up in the desert. We had raised beds at one point, but bottom line, the water is too much. Costco had full-grown plants for 10 bucks one day, and I couldn’t resist. I put their container in another bigger container filled with dirt. The trick is to not let it dry out. We have been having very hot weather of late, so I can’t forget them since they are not on our drip. I tried the tomato plants that hang up, but they were useless. So far this one is looking like it will give me a good bunch of fruit. Any other place that has good soil and either cheaper water or rain, I would plant in ground.

  2. Kim13 says:

    Beautiful…I want a ‘mater samich!

  3. dorannrule says:

    Whooeee! Your tomatoes look absolutely perfectly delicious! 🙂

  4. So jealous! We had to start over when deer ate our entire garden. Beautiful picture!

  5. coastalcrone says:

    Very impressive! We have to conserve water her also so we have drought resistant plants. I have one patio tomato in a pot and it has been successful so far.

  6. Success! They look delicious!

  7. Yay for you! We’ve been harvesting lettuce and a few peas here. Yep, a matey sandwich with organic mayo and bread sounds delightful!

I would love to hear from you!

