Weekly Photo Challenge: Zig Zag

009 - Copy

Since I am on the theme of caterpillars:  This zigzagging critter was one of five I picked off my one lowly container garden tomato plant!  His body is zigzag, and so are the feelings I have about killing things.

023

I decided to put it on the bird food tray–circle of life and all that jazz.  But since he was making a run (crawl) for it, hubby had to go in and finish the deed.  I don’t do dead!

025

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Humor, Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Zig Zag

  1. dorannrule says:

    What a gorgeous guy he is! The caterpillar…. 🙂

  2. Eliza Waters says:

    That is a tomato hornworm that turns into a sphinx moth (flies like a mini-hummingbird). If you have any wild plants like nightshade (Solanum dulcamara) you can put the caterpillars there and they will be happy to eat that. Then your hubby won’t have to do the dirty deed! 😉

  3. tootlepedal says:

    I share your delicate feelings.

  4. That is too funny. I don’t mind the doing the deed, I just don’t like squishy mess.

  5. pattisj says:

    Hubbies are so good for that.

  6. taphian says:

    that’s a real Ohrwurm, virtual hugs

  7. The Birding Bunch says:

    In Latin this is a Manduca sexta. 🙂 I saw someone gave you the ID, so needed to be creative. Sounds like an adult laid eggs on your one plant. I cannot squish the big caterpillars, so I’ve been putting them near the Bluebird box far from the garden. If those small birds can take on a 17-year cicada, they can handle those monsters.

    • I put it on the bird feeder, but the birds, though around, were not paying it any mind. As you see, it started to escape! Argh. The 4 others I put out in the middle of the street so hopefully the birds could feast but not make me look.

      • The Birding Bunch says:

        Maybe you need to get a new feeder. People buy special feeders for live mealworms, so they cannot escape.

        It looks like you are getting quite a set-up already. Birds are the only reason we keep the lilac bush- a place for feeders and so I can see the birds up close. 🙂

I would love to hear from you!

