With Sadness

How many smiles does it take to build joy?

How many gifts does it take to feel secure–to feel happy.  Whole.

Perhaps for some, there is never enough

because for all the sowing of laughter, for all the sharing of gifts, the fruits of it all drain out as fast as the sowing, as fast as the laughing,

and perhaps

what was needed most was a heart and an ear to listen hard,

and a real reason to continue to be.

 

~~We will miss the you we perhaps never saw behind the screen.

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to With Sadness

  1. keelymyles says:

    Lovely words and thoughts… My mind has already drifted over similar wavelengths. You have penned it aptly…. He will be missed and mourned by many.

    • I am not sure fame is always a kind bedfellow. For all he gave, it made his own needs harder to meet, I think, because people don’t see you in the same way–especially when you can turn everything into a joke.

      • keelymyles says:

        I am sure you are quite right. I know that even as a pretty average living human being. I have myself a clown costume and have often tried to be a person who brings smiles and laughter to those around me, but still I’ve had to face my own personal inner struggles. When my children were quite small and I was ever so sleep deprived, I suffered a great deal of postpartum anxiety. Someone told my mom I should just put my clown costume back on. Now I am sure this person meant well, but it does go to show the misunderstanding. Humour is a marvellous tool in life, one that is meant to be used, but it does not cover all things, nor dissolve pain and suffering. I can only imagine how much greater the struggles of life could be amplified by fame. My heart really does go out to those who knew him closest.

        • I think too of those like Justin Beiber and I believe it was Leann Rhimes that have lost their innocence with fame and prosperity. And then you see all those X Factor and Idol folks working so hard and hoping so hard to have the dream. But the dream comes with a cost.

  2. dorannrule says:

    This says it all – beautifully.

I would love to hear from you!

