To See What I Could Sea

A p r o n h e a d -- Lilly

We have enough sand, but no beach;

enough waves, but they generally radiate off hot pavement.

We have moving air, but rather than the gentle off-shore breezes,

our wind is often fence-bending, sand-bearing, hair-ripping gales!

We have blue skies and even apparently lost seagulls,

but the forever horizon of the sea,

the constant, foaming refreshment of ocean tides,

they are not to be found among Joshua trees, newly raised subdivisions,

and maxed out thermometers.

So to the beach I go.

I look out to forget the manmade sea behind me.

I look out to remind myself that there is a wonder beyond my schedule.

I look out to look in

and clear the mind clutter to make room for a higher tide,

a fresh thought.

Pelican and seagull in synchronized dancing

You lookin’ at me?

Duets

View original post

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to To See What I Could Sea

  1. susanpoozan says:

    I enjoy the way you use words.

  2. keelymyles says:

    My favorite place…

I would love to hear from you!

