Legacy

024

We build and build and plan and spend

to leave a legacy,

when the corroding debris that we leave behind will be

less treasure

and more albatross,

less legacy

and more burden

to be dispensed with, garage-saled, or junked by those left behind holding our barnacled bits.

And the memories and warm fuzzies of accumulation will dissolve in obligation for others,

and

I never thought it would be so.

I never wanted it to be so.

Let my legacy be souls.

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Christian, Faith, My Book of Uncommon Prayers, Photography, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Legacy

  1. C.J. Penn says:

    Reminds me of when my parents passed away and I had to empty their house. But I really like the way you put it.

  2. susanpoozan says:

    It would be so good if we could live more lightly on the much abused planet.

  3. dorannrule says:

    This is beautiful but surprisingly sad – both the verse and the image.

  4. george agak says:

    Tell me where you get these thoughts! awesome!

  5. patsy miller says:

    Your last line, PROFOUND and TRULY SOBERING!!!

I would love to hear from you!

