Here It Is

A p r o n h e a d -- Lilly

178 - Copy

Waistlines and laugh lines, expanding in uncomfortable ways,

relentless ways,

and I never imagined myself in these shoes that I walk in.

This image staring back at me in the mirror is not the person in my head.  It is

some trick,

some slight of hand, an obvious interruption to my well-planned life.

Interruption or corruption, or a little of both?

And I am having trouble getting used to this face I see

and the entropy,

and this me that’s me,

when I thought I had discovered the fountain of youth in my words and rock and roll and frizzy hair that now falls

thin and white to frame this person who should be me but isn’t or

is.

When you are 20, 30 seems a long way off, and 60 is a never.

When you are young, you can’t imagine, and yet . . . here it is.

View original post

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Here It Is

  1. susanpoozan says:

    Very well described, I feel so much the same.

  2. soonie2 says:

    oh yes, sounds familiar…welcome to 60.

  3. reinkat says:

    Truer words were never spoken! Yes, here it is.

  4. dorannrule says:

    This sounds vaguely familiar Lilly… something I’ve said to myself if not as poignantly. I find the trick is to avoid mirrors, clear lakes, puddles or window reflections. Then I can go on feeling 18. 🙂

I would love to hear from you!

