Weekly Photo Challenge: Achievement

scan0057 - Copy

I have done much of what I ever dreamed.

I had my 15 minutes of fame–even more–and yet,

it was never enough. There was always another marker, another goal, and the checked off boxes were replaced by bigger and better boxes with the young and the talented rising, gaining, nipping at my heels.

And my identity suffered with the lack of a renewal of contract.

And my identity withered with my albums found in thrift stores for 35 cents.

Until

my identity became more about what lasts than the things that don’t.

My best achievements have not been concerts and songs and tours; they are found in the relationship I have with my husband–better now after weathering so many years and troubles–so much life.

My achievements are the sons I have mothered and nurtured and schooled–cried for, prayed for, and ached for.

My achievements are the blood and bone of family, husband, kids, in-laws, and grand kids, praying them toward eternity.

And there it is:  The really only great achievement.  The one that lasts that is bigger than fame and bigger than identity.

My true  identity is in You, wrapped up and secure; and if I achieve even one thing in all of this, it will be to have pleased You with a heart of devotion and lasting fruit.

scan0110 - Copy scan0056 - Copy scan0050 - Copy 7. scan0066 - Copy

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Family, Music, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Achievement

  1. pattisj says:

    Excellent! You’ve done much more than many of us ever imagine to do. And you achieved the important stuff, best of all.

  2. susanpoozan says:

    Wow, what a lot you have achieved in your life, you should be proud looking back.

I would love to hear from you!

