The Life of Dog

A p r o n h e a d -- Lilly

388 - Copy

Oh, that my life were like my dog’s–

simple, accepted, and sweet.

Affection is enough,

belonging is enough,

easy forgiveness and howling joys.

Head to head with the master with no doubt

and only an occasional dark fear, made well by warm assurance.

Oh, that my life were like my dog’s–

simple, accepted, and sweet.

Daily food is enough,

access is enough,

easy rest and spinning fun.

Head to head with the housemates,

no work and only occasional stresses, made well with smiley scratches.

There is that anxious cleansing time,

but oh,

I would like my life if it were as my dog’s.

Hmm, wait . . .

049 (2) - Copy

View original post

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Life of Dog

  1. Beautiful words… and so true. They are amazing creatures!

  2. Ha! No, ours thinks they are human too! 🙂

I would love to hear from you!

