Yums and Apples! :-)

 

112

It is actually yams and apples (or sweet potatoes).  This is a holiday favorite, but I eat it whenever the desire hits.  It is nutritious and tastes great!

Scrub as many yams or sweet potatoes as you think will fill your baking dish 2/3 full.  Pierce and bake in the oven at 375 for 45-1 hour, just till they are cooked but still firm, not mushy.

013

Cut in bite-size pieces and place in a casserole dish.

017

Cut as many apples as will fill the rest of the dish.  I used a combination of organic Pippins from my organic farmer food source and organic Fugi apples from Costco.

020 016

Top with cinnamon and any combination of sweetener you like.  This batch has some powdered date sugar and maple syrup.  You can top with a few pats of vegan butter, but if you want to leave out the extra calories from fat, the recipe is not hurt by it.

024

Bake covered in the oven for 45 – 1 hour at 350 till apples are tender and flavors blended.  It is healthy comfort food!

112

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Food, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Yums and Apples! :-)

  1. susanpoozan says:

    The dishes look so tasty in your pictures, I can almost smell the food.

  2. dorannrule says:

    Looks and sounds delicious! I need some comfort food about now. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. The Birding Bunch says:

    This looks good. I wish I can convince my second son that sweet potatoes are good. He is required to have a little, but oh, the grumps! Maybe including apples will change his opinion.

  4. The Birding Bunch says:

    Oh, have you tried a crock pot for cooking the sweet potatoes? I’ve done that to soften, then put in the oven to bake after including the other stuff.

  5. Oh my gosh I am so glad to see this! I am on the look out for healthy sweet snacks!

I would love to hear from you!

