You know you live with a CA drought . . .

001 - Copy

. . . when after a rain, even the fences sigh with relief!

Actually, there is a back story to this.

011 - Copy

Years ago, before I realized California’s shake shingle roofs were a far cry from the tin roofs I grew up with, I was heading over to my parents-in-law’s house by myself.  They were at work, and I was supposed to let myself in to take care of something.

I was very concerned to see that possibly their house was on fire.  I wasn’t sure what I should do because it didn’t look like a typical fire.  It seemed to be smoking all over!  I called my mother-in-law, and I checked in the attic crawl space.  I also did a whole lot of sniffing around the house.  No smoke, no smell, and yet, there was that roof!

If I had looked around me, I would have noticed that all the roofs were “smoking” because after a good rain and the return of sunshine, all that soaked up moisture starts to evaporate here in sunny Cal.  Weird.

Tin does not steam!

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Family, Humor, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to You know you live with a CA drought . . .

  1. livingonchi says:

    Interesting. I never thought of that.

  2. susanpoozan says:

    What a splendid story, it’s a phenomenon I would like to have seen.

  3. John says:

    The hills do the same when it rains, creating wispy clouds that rise and cling as they warm, especially at dawn.

  4. Pit says:

    As to drought, I believe you’re worse off than we’re here, even if we’ve had 7 very dry years and you’ve had a deluge lately.
    Take care,
    Pit

  5. The Birding Bunch says:

    LOL One of my boys regularly comes into the house with a steaming head after playing outside in the snow.

  6. dorannrule says:

    Smoky rooftops peculiar to California rains. What an interesting story. 🙂

  7. tootlepedal says:

    We can get the same effect off our back road surfaces if conditions are right.

  8. desertgnome says:

    I never noticed the steam before! We have a cinderblock wall instead of a wooden fence though:(

I would love to hear from you!

