I Will Remember

IMG_0702 - Copy

Beyond the mumbling and the whining days,

these bedridden, trapped and powerless days,

I will remember—

the cookies, fresh-baked,

pink curlers in the hair,

a wet washcloth planted on your head, weeding vegetables under the hot summer sun.  I will remember

the harmony at the old upright, laughter and tears,

coloring books at Christmas—and fresh, brand spanking new crayons—and

flannel nighties and egg candling, flyswatter swats, and evening strolls with Dad.

I will remember lawn chairs and your snowball trees exploding white,

welcomes home and sad goodbyes,

flaky pie crusts, blueberry picking, and laundry flapping in the breeze.

Egg routes, choir songs, chiropractor, and 4-H,

and Scrabble,

Sunday School lessons and shotgun shells, hushed conversations and prayers in bed in the night, and

sickness, wellness, and church books past midnight, finding that one lost penny, and I will remember.

Beyond the days of diminished body and mind, what you were

and are,

somewhere still in this failing flesh,

the history, the love, the sacrifice, the gifting, and the stories,

I will remember.

IMG_0950 - Copy

 

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Family, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I Will Remember

  1. Susan says:

    Beautiful in words and images. So many of these things I remember too.

  2. jmgoyder says:

    I am sobbing – such beautiful words for a beautiful woman, and from a beautiful woman.

  3. patsykmiller says:

    Bless your heart….love the memories of one most dear! I bet you cherish that awesome picture of you two, couldn’t have been better! My heart goes out to you and I will pray for you and family during this time.

  4. Beautiful. Having just lost my mom who was 83 I can totally relate. May God give you comfort.

  5. reinkat says:

    Very beautiful post. God bless you on your journey, and God bless your mom.

  6. Anne Hume says:

    Beautiful words and precious pictures and memories, Lilly…God help you, your family and your mom as she reaches her eternal destination, Home with Jesus…

  7. Love those words. And I love that photo at the end.

    • Thank you. She was a mix of so many things, it seemed appropriate to jumble them together. She was quite handy with a shotgun, and one day she shot near our dog to scare him as he ran off with one of her chickens–except her near was too close and she hit him in the leg. He survived it and never stole another chicken. 🙂

  8. susanpoozan says:

    What wonderful memories and how sensible to think of them and not worry about the here and now.

  9. dorannrule says:

    This really did make me cry as my own mother is long gone, but I remember all of those things.

  10. So wonderfully expressed, so very true, we send you strength.

I would love to hear from you!

