Together

050 - Copy

I look through my own grid, and I’m not sure how to see any differently.

I know just how you feel!–well, not really.  I can imagine walking in your shoes, but truth is, I don’t.  I can imagine feeling what you feel, but truth is . . .

Small wonder we feel the separation.  Together alone.

And the warm, friendly unity is an out-there goal, a fragile hope, but until I am you, I will never know just how you feel–or in truth, feel your pain.  How shallow that sounds.

I feel my own deeply, and I only see yours through mine, so it is arrogant to say I understand when I can but approximate;

it is probably wrong for you to say the same.  Together apart.

Maybe alienation is part of the hunger and thirsting for things to be as they were meant to be.  Together.

 

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Christian, Faith, memories, Photography, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Together

  1. susanpoozan says:

    Loved the picture, the words were a bit difficult for me.

  2. jmgoyder says:

    I don’t think it is possible for anyone to step totally inside anyone else’s shoes no matter how much empathy and/or sympathy is there – no matter how much willingness. Perhaps it is true that at the end of life we are totally alone. But that would be unbearable unless we had learned how to be alone already. I’m not sure if this makes sense but, like you, I am struggling to make sense of things. Lots of love to you!

    • We think we know what someone else is going through, but it is humbling to realize we really don’t. We are all such a mix of personality, experiences, and beliefs. But coming along side and doing the best we can to love is a good place to start.

  3. dorannrule says:

    This is such sought provoking verse and I think the sunny light is symbolic too of the search for understanding.

I would love to hear from you!

