I’ve got my eye on you!

551 - Copy

I was sitting waiting for some hummer shots when I had the distinct feeling I was being watched!

How exciting is this?  I have never been this close to an owl in the wild, let alone capture his cute little face.

From my bird book, it appears he is a long-eared owl.  🙂  I don’t think I have this one wrong.

I think we must officially rate as some sort of bird sanctuary!

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to I’ve got my eye on you!

  1. neihtn2012 says:

    Wow! What a nice shot!

  2. Patty says:

    Yes Lilly, you are correct it is a long-eared owl. Did you know that owls’ ears are positioned differently on each side of their heads? http://esrd.alberta.ca/fish-wildlife/wild-species/birds/owls/images/owl_1.gif. You must be some kind of bird sanctuary. I want to come visit! 🙂 Birds are such beautiful animals. Thank-you for sharing a part of your world with me.
    Patty

  3. reinkat says:

    What a great shot! Not only did you get to see an owl upclose and personal–it happened in the daytime so that you could see and take a picture.
    They will have to declare your yard a National Wildlife Refuge for sure!

  4. Susan says:

    Oh my, what a fantastic shot! I have never seen a long eared owl before…magnificent!

  5. pattisj says:

    I’ve never even heard of this one! Looks like it had two eyes on you. Nice capture!

  6. Wonderful photo and experience for you. Nice! 🙂

  7. susanpoozan says:

    Wonderful photograph, what a treat for you. Thanks for sharing.

  8. zannyro says:

    I have never seen an owl like this! What an exciting experience and you stayed collected enough to get a fantastic shot…brilliant!

  9. tootlepedal says:

    W hat a treat for you and, at a remove, for us too.

  10. dorannrule says:

    What a “character” he seems to be. Thank you for sharing the visitors to your bird sanctuary! 🙂

  11. The Birding Bunch says:

    Good for you! Another bird to your list.

    Oh, I suspect he is still there. These owls are notorious for watching the birders trying to find them. Ha! I found this quote on All About Birds: Long-eared Owls are lanky owls that often seem to wear a surprised expression thanks to long ear tufts that typically point straight up like exclamation marks.

    Yep, I think you surprised this owl. 🙂

    • It was a little creepy at first, seeing the eyes. Then I got so excited! I keep looking for him again. Would they nest fairly low in among other birds? There is a lot of activity in that little jungle.

      • The Birding Bunch says:

        Most often they use old nests of birds like Crows, Magpies, Hawks, etc. Or even squirrel’s nests. Owls tend to be mobbed by smaller birds, so try to be as hidden as possible for nesting. But you never know. 🙂 Yes, your Hooded Oriole is correct. You really are seeing some good birds!

    • Did I get the hooded oriole right? I’m thinking it might be the female to the male Bullock’s that I just got pics of.

  12. I have been trying to spy one in our area for a while now. No such luck. I can hear him once in a while but not see him. Beautiful shot.

  13. awesome! you get the best bird shots

I would love to hear from you!

