My Nightmare

I woke up last night about 1:30-ish from a nightmare. My heart was racing, and it took a while to calm down. The cause?

Earlier in the evening, a police helicopter circled and circled above our neighborhood with bullhorn blaring! The problem with a bullhorn from a helicopter is that it is totally unintelligible unless you go outside–which you probably shouldn’t!

If they were saying, “Everybody get out of your houses; they are about to explode from a gas leak!” then we should run out!

If they were saying, “Stay inside because there is an axe murderer on the loose!” then we should probably stay inside, bring the dog in, bolt the door, and–well, you get it.

As it is, you can’t understand what the threat is and cannot respond accordingly except by having nightmares of a black bearded man in a black knitted cap (probably Canadian–maybe Russian, or maybe from Alabama), standing by my slider with a gun, and me so shaken as to not be able to form words. My “Get the gun!” sounded like my gargling. And besides that, Hubby couldn’t hear me with the electric toothbrush on!

So do you get why I woke up, heart racing? Oy.

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in creative writing, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to My Nightmare

  1. susanpoozan says:

    How absolutely awful, I am glad that doesn’t happen in London although helicopters do circle overheard sometimes. No wonder the incident gave you a nightmare.

  2. Oh, my!!! Did you ever find out what it was all about?

  3. Um, thanks, helicopter? Well, here in the Seattle area the best way to find out what the sheriff’s helicopter is doing, is to look at their Twitter page, it is posted there. That’s Seattle for you, the police and sheriff’s departments have found that tweeting is the fastest way to get the word out.

  4. jmgoyder says:

    Yikes! I have very vivid dreams all the time so I know the feeling!

  5. Mike says:

    As a rule, you need not be concerned with messages from a helicopter, unless the message starts with “You! Apronhead, get those hands where we can see them.”
    As to your dream, yes, I hear you. Not only that, I got your back, Lilly.

  6. tootlepedal says:

    I am surprised that you were able to shut an eye at all.

  7. dorannrule says:

    Yikes! I have never had a helicopter bull horn around my house. I would certainly have nightmares though, so you are not alone.

  8. Sorry for your nocturnal horror! But seriously Lilly, even in fear, you crack me up!

  9. Wow, what a night and I can totally understand the frightening experience! Did you ever find out what went on?

I would love to hear from you!

