My Book of Uncommon Prayers: Numb

There is a numbness after so many shootings,

so many senseless deaths, so much brazen brutality.

How many lives,

how many more mayhem moments?

So much fear. But

it is like you have to distance yourself from it to feel secure. It was another state, another city far away. It was mostly Hispanics and blacks, and I’m not. It was mostly gay people, and I’m not. It was in Florida, and I’m not, so

I will it to feel other

so I can believe that my little world is still safe.

But is it? When they come for one, they come for all.

When one suffers cruel injustice, we all do.

Lord, help.

 

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Christian, Faith, My Book of Uncommon Prayers, nature, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Book of Uncommon Prayers: Numb

  1. Well stated! We are all in this together!

  2. Patty says:

    Surely God’s promise of peace is a welcome one , especially when there is so much that can take away our inner tranquility. As soon as we are able to settle down, get some rest, and quiet our spirit, it seems as if some other emergency or crisis arises. As quick as lightning, we lose the calm we worked so hard to find. His name will be called Prince of Peace. — Isaiah 9:6
    This is the problem with the world’s definition of peace: it is based on limited human resources and therefore offers only temporary results.
    Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful. — John 14:27 Easier said than done. We could live our lives in constant fear, but that would be what Satan wants. Move to a remote farm in the middle of no where, raise your own food, and be content. 🙂 I’m ready when you are!

    Patty

    • I’ll meet you at the pass! 🙂 It is partly because of constant and immediate access to news, but not just that. It is hard not to feel powerless in the face of so much evil. I need to go take photos of nature to breathe.

I would love to hear from you!

