At War

I am kind of at war with technology. There are aspects I love, like digital cameras, editing tools, word docs, the connection on social media (This is a mixed bag!). But this constant phone connection thing has me perplexed and sometimes irritated.

Now granted, one feels safer going places, especially at night, with a cell phone, knowing you have instant help and connection should you need it. But when you can’t enjoy a meal without people checking their phones, or when folks walk across intersections on their phones, oblivious to traffic and alien invasions. Well, that’s just too much.

The other day, I was having a conversation with two individuals. I thought it was kind of fun, a pleasant connection, but . . . and here it is! Almost in synchrony, they both lifted their phones, which of course were permanently affixed to their hands anyway, and started scrolling. The conversation was done in my mid-sentence, and I was left bumbling. There was nothing else to do but walk away, and to be honest, they may not have even noticed. The connection was over and all that was left was an uncomfortable metaphorical dial tone!

I think we will wake up at some point and wonder when and where community and friendships got lost. Some will not know how it happened . . . but I can tell you.

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in a little bit about that, community, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I would love to hear from you!