No Coloring in the Lines

Someone has not been coloring in the lines,

but the glory blends from horizon to stratosphere,

lifting my soul with it.

Peaking through trees,

sneaking round houses,

the evening bursts majestic.

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to No Coloring in the Lines

  1. Wow! That’s so pretty! 🙂

    • Last night’s sunset was so glorious. It just kept changing and changing, getting better and better. I wish I had been able to scramble to some place with a horizon, but housing tract shots were fun just the same! And I don’t dare post too many in a series since I just had to pay 20 bucks for more space! 🙂

      • nutsfortreasure says:

        Here in New England we even got to see the Northern Lights! Sun has been doing some strange things and in return we get these wonderful images thanks so much for sharing. I need this after my day yesterday 🙂

        • Sorry for whatever was in your yesterday. I was raised in Ontario and saw Northern Lights back then. It is a wonder!

        • nutsfortreasure says:

          Me and my boyfriend/best friend took our dog and went to our local NH mountains to prospect for Gold and we were in a new area and in the water for about 5 hrs and finding gold when he was bit or stung by something on his neck he then started to swell,bur,itch it was horrible no cell phone coverage I had no idea where hospital was so I went in search of any store that might sell Benedryl it is the only think I knew I could do we almost lost him but I saw a flashing red light of in the distant bushes followed it down roads I had no idea where I was found emt’s working on a woman and begged for one to come check on Ron they did and rushed him to local hospital and we finally returned home last night at 11 I can do without grey hair! 😦 I have never been so scared and it was 90+ degrees to bout and with dog options were less 😦 all is well now thanks for asking
          Northern Lights are THE BEST! A gigt from the Heavens!

        • Wow, what in the world was it? A bug? A fish? A snake? How scary!!!

        • nutsfortreasure says:

          a bug or a bee we do not know as we did not see it 😦

        • After I typed that I figured, mmm, if you were panning for gold, you were not under the water. Jumping fish? 🙂 Must have been a nasty bug, or maybe he is allergic to whatever it was. Radical reaction!

        • nutsfortreasure says:

          🙂 He knows he is allergic to bees but he felt no sting so I thought one of the huge spiders we see frequenting the river rocks maybe had crawled up his leg then back to his tasty NECK I swell with bug bites but Gid this was horrible so quickly and in the almost deadly thank God I listened to my gut!

        • Scary stuff, for sure.

        • nutsfortreasure says:

          I never want to go through that again but my gut tells me I will but I know God guided me to where I needed to find help I am as sure as it is Sunday in NH I never would have found the ambulance 😦

        • Really! Sounds like provision to me. In addition to miracles 🙂 I think he should carry and epi-pen!

        • nutsfortreasure says:

          We see his doc on Friday and MEN damn him he fought me tooth and nail to get on the dam strecher so they could transport him and his BP had bottomed out 😦 Something has to get through to him I can not take any more grey hairs I am Blonde damit! lol

        • A little nagging is sometimes a good thing!

        • nutsfortreasure says:

          🙂

  2. reinkat says:

    Really beautiful sunset.
    We get those in the winter, when woodsmoke and ice crystals are in the air . . .

  3. melodylowes says:

    Such lovely descriptive language for so lovely a photo – magnificent, Lilly!

    • I would post more of the lovely series of color we had last night, but WP smacked me with filled up space. Now I’m cautious and 20 dollars poorer!

      • melodylowes says:

        Oh, oh – I’ve been seeing more and more blogs moving to new spots because of this. How much space is there before you run out? Do you need to pay ‘rent’ for more? I never knew about all of this when I signed up… 😦

        • I heard of folks having issues like this on Blogspot, but I haven’t yet over there. I was surprised when I couldn’t post a pic here One blogger said there is a way to see the percentage you have used up. I haven’t found it yet. 20 dollars for 10 gig is probably not that bad, but I have no idea how much I had to begin with. When I post pics now, I’m resizing them to 800 X 768. I also had someone say it took a long time for my photos to load, so maybe this will help that, too. I don’t want to start another blog and have it be difficult for folks to find me. And I’m sure they would not let you keep your same name. We get so grumpy when our free stuff is messed with! 🙂

        • melodylowes says:

          Indeed! Thanks for the info – I hope everything works out okay. I would so hate to have to move – what a waste. Maybe I should be resizing everything, too. I had no idea that it would be an issue! 😦

        • I didn’t know either, but I guess the space is not unlimited. You can get 200 GB for 290 bucks. 🙂 Mmm? Sound appealing?

        • melodylowes says:

          Great gravy – who pulled that number out of thin air? *sigh* 🙂

        • See, they get us addicted to the soft stuff–a blog here and there. And then they try to take it away so you go for the hardcore stuff!

        • melodylowes says:

          🙂 *giggle* You rebel, you!

        • I just saw under the Dasboard / Media the %. Looks like we have 3 GB of freebie stuff.

        • melodylowes says:

          And after that we pay, I guess? *sigh* Photos must take up a lot of space…

        • Read Birding Bunch’s reply to my “Okay y’all . . . ” post about this. It was informative.

        • melodylowes says:

          Thanks – I’ll check it out…

  4. dorannrule says:

    These are fabulous shots and I got them really really fast! Maybe the downsizing is helping!

  5. What a gift to have been able to experience this. Thanks for sharing. Blessings!

  6. Love the colors in the photos, Lilly. Glad I read the previous comments; thanks for the heads up on the usable space limitation!

    • One thing I did, which I have remedied, was to load a gallery of pics at the same time. But often, I only used some of them in the post, or I did a slideshow. But all those were taking space. Learning!

      • Hmm.I recently started posting one feature photo and then to tell the story I added a slideshow or gallery or both! Guess I will use only one from now on. Or, maybe I will use the collage (as I did for my Westward Ho! post) instead. You think maybe that would use less space?

        • I’m still experimenting. I’m not sure how small I can go and have it work. But if you copy the pic on your computer, resize the copy, and then add them in a slideshow, it might not be too much–certainly not as big as the originals. My files are so large with the new camera that I am trying to do that. But I don’t want to sacrifice quality or have them so small you need a magnifying glass. 🙂

        • Same here with new camera, larger files; have to keep reminding myself to resize. Thanks again.

  7. Popular post! I am missing our spectacular clouds-it’s been too dry or something. Instead we have lots of rabbits! I’d gladly have more clouds.

    • Lots of folks have been saying it’s dry. Talked to my Mom in Ontario, and it has been really dry there, too. Love the bunnies. 🙂

      • LOL. We call rabbits, “Raptor food”. :O We have chicken wire around the stuff we most want to protect, so it isn’t too bad, other than it makes it hard to work around the gardens.

        • They are so cute, but I know they can be pests, too. Deer are beautiful, but they too cause a lot of grief to farmers and gardeners. My baby sis and her hubby even had a 6′ fence around their orchard, but the numble deer would jump it. Do you have a lot of deer?

        • We’ve had a handful around here, but thus far we’ve not had any damage in the yard. I did see an amazing site when I was out looking for birds to photograph a couple months ago. Three adult deer were running along the south fence line going where ever it is that deer go. I was able to get a couple bad pictures.

          The corn just tassled, so Papa needs to get up the electric fence to keep the raccoons out.

        • My dad used to keep a radio playing in the garden to keep coons away. As long as they don’t like talk radio, you might find that helpful. 🙂

        • That is interesting… I had to think a bit. We don’t have a radio in the house except for our weather alert. Hmm… There’s one in the van, but would playing the radio overnight drain the battery? Papa would know something like that.

        • Just pick up a cheapy one at Walmart and run an extension cord.

        • Just pick up a cheapy one at Walmart and run an extension cord. My brother-in-law used to have huge gardens, and they would do this, too.

I would love to hear from you!