Faith in the Wood

809 - Copy

The wild risk calls me in, but

fear weights my ankles.

It’s that fear that has hobbled my whole life.

The fear of the unknown,

the fear of betrayal,

the fear that call will not be greater than calamity.

If I could just see to the other side and know,

and not be blocked by wood upon wood upon wood.

But I’m heading in and up,

fear in my pocket, resolve in my heart

because the wild faith-risk calls me on.

816 - Copy

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Faith in the Wood

  1. susansplace says:

    Beautiful. And fear – yes – how it binds us all and wastes so much of our time!

  2. Woah! I stumbled upon your blog as I wish I could write poems. Great piece!

  3. Lovely, rhythmic and visually pleasing.

  4. dorannrule says:

    This is really beautiful because it strikes a chord in all of us. Fear of moving on, and the photo of the woods is so frightening to some, but represents a challenge and adventure to others. Much to think about in your words and in your images.

  5. gingerbreadcafe says:

    The poem and the woods capture what you say perfectly. 🙂

  6. Lindy Lee says:

    Trouble is, you can’t just look. Finding out means staying there, whether you like it or not…

  7. susanpoozan says:

    You make such interesting use of words, I am always impressed at your work.

I would love to hear from you!