There is a Different Way of Seeing

 

034 - Copy

There is a different way of seeing.

A handicap spot, and you seem so able as I cluck my judging mental tongue. But I don’t see the pain and fatigue that chains your ankles to the ground, making even those few extra steps a burden.

When the inconsiderate one enters the exit instead of the entrance, I assume she is obtuse or disrespectful of other people’s space, but what I don’t see is the soul that is counting steps to see how many she can manage with the energy left and still finish all her errands.

You looked strong today, so in control.  And what I didn’t see were the tears cupped at the edge of your frazzled and pained brain, ready to spill with the slightest jostle.  What I didn’t see was the bathroom stall where tears fell and spirit sagged from a thoughtless word.

There is a different way of seeing.

034 - Copy (2)

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Photography, Poetry, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to There is a Different Way of Seeing

  1. Sister-in-law says:

    We are all, on our best days, His cracked pots, yes…
    Anger, jealousy and hurt express themselves from within in such peculiar and ugly ways.

    • Only when we are misjudged and see from the other side do we get a clearer and more compassionate vision. A lady firend from church who is older had a sore leg and went in the exit to save steps. Another lady actually rammed her cart and hurt her bad leg as a way of protesting such an apparent indiscretion. Oy. That was part of the inspiration here.

  2. Darla Welchel says:

    Lilly, this is so true. None of knows what the next person is going through, sometimes there is even physical pain that we can’t see. My daughter has a lot of physical pain that others can’t see and she cares for a daughter with cancer and a son on the autism spectrum, but she refuses to get a handicap placard to make her day a bit easier. I admire her strength and stamina.
    I have another daughter who battles with social anxiety disorder and sometimes others don’t see what a struggle it is for her to just get out of her car! Thank you, 🙂

    • We need to give each other a little more space. I often wonder what folks think as we are parked in handicap parking and my hubby is putting his bike on the rack of the car for me to drive him home. He bikes 15 miles to work, and if I’m in, I take him home. But biking on a recumbant is less stress to his body that walking on the hard concrete of the parking lot from far away where employees are supposed to park. His leg injury requires that he be close, yet he looks fit in other ways.

  3. jmgoyder says:

    Oh this is so poignant.

  4. pattisj says:

    Touching post.

  5. reinkat says:

    Beautiful post. I suspect that the way we judge others comes from what we would do or behave, more of a projecting than any effort to understand.
    Not a clear thought, but I hope you know what I mean.

    • And to be honest, there are those who are just plain mean, and there are those who should not be using handicap stickers. But we often do not know who the abusers are just by looking. And sometimes a person’s rude comment springs from a painful and frustrating day. It is hard, but we probably should give the benefit of the doubt.

  6. nutsfortreasure says:

    Wonderfully written

    Ouch poor woman I would have said something I really can not stand hurtful people 😦

  7. Livonne says:

    How true that is. I have experienced it so many times. Thank you for sharing!

  8. restlessjo says:

    Ouch! That hurts! But I love the out of focus photographs. 😦

I would love to hear from you!