The Ins and Outs of Birding (Wed.’s blog in some time zone)

Make way, make way, I’m coming innnnnnnnnnn!  Whew.  I’m getting pretty good at this flying stuff, huh, Dad?

Except that you wiped out your baby brother, you’re doing great, son.  Go easy on the brakes on lift off, but feel free to use them when landing!

Sure, Dad!  Whoa, this cruising is awesome.  Hey, watch me dive for that sunflower seed and do a touch and go with it hanging off my tongue.

What did I tell you about choking.  Stand still and chew your food or the boogey lady will get you.

She doesn’t seem too scary to me, Dad.  Are you sure she’s so dangerous?

That is where all bad birds go.  They get swallowed up by her black clicky thingy and are trapped forever.  Your Aunt Alice got sucked in there, and we never saw her again . . . but that could have been the hawk.  No one really knows for sure.  But better safe than sorry.

. . . Will you watch what you’re doing.  Hover means above the target not plough into it.  Now go round again, and this time get it right.  Good grief!  Next time your mom gets to take you out on maneuvers.

About apronheadlilly

wife and mother, musician, composer / poet, teacher, and observer of the world, flawed Christ-follower
This entry was posted in Humor, Photography, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Ins and Outs of Birding (Wed.’s blog in some time zone)

  1. dorannrule says:

    Hi Lilly. I don’t know why but it is taking so long to download your photos that my computer registers a “hi memory” complaint. However, finally got these of the Apronhead Finch Convention with animated conversation! Love it – worth waiting for.

  2. judysp says:

    II had no problem loading the photos so might have been a glitch. I loved your post and the photographs. I am a follower now and looking forward to your next post.
    cheers Judy
    judysp.wordpress.com

  3. Mirjam says:

    Wonderful pictures.

  4. Wondrous captures, and captivating text, Lily:)

  5. Double funny. You’re having too much fun over there, aren’t you? : )

  6. ktlee says:

    I feel like this series of photos and words should be a children’s book! Love your photos with the barnwood background and the rusted radio flyer. They’re just perfect! I love watching baby birds as they first learn to fly, with the parents (as you depicted) never far away, encouraging them on! Thanks for making me smile today!

  7. SR says:

    THIS DOES IT!! I AM CALLING THE REAL ESTATE AGENT TOMORROW. I AM GOING TO SELL OUT AND MOVE INTO YOUR HOUSE:>) SO BE EXPECTING ME:>) THEN I AM GOING TO BE WITH YOU AT EVERY MOMENT THAT YOU HAVE THAT CAMERA! GOD BLESS,SR

  8. pattisj says:

    Great shots! I love to watch the new arrivals as they learn to navigate the feeders, wobbling as they hold onto the perches, exiting out the bottom of the protective cage rather than through the side! Too funny.

I would love to hear from you!